Levels Of Care Assessment



Levels of Care Assessment (Electronic Version)

The Colorado Perinatal Care Quality Collaborative (CPCQC), as the state perinatal advisory group, previously designated neonatal levels of care to member hospitals with the state of Colorado. As CPCC transitioned to a statewide perinatal quality collaborative, and with the support of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), we conducted a survey of birthing hospitals to better understand the statewide healthcare services provided to mother and infants.

Why Is This Important?

By using the CDC-created LOCATe survey, we are standardizing the process for designation of neonatal and obstetric levels of care, thereby allowing quality improvement in care for pregnant women, mothers and infants in the state of Colorado.  This process replaces the self-designation process formerly overseen by the CPCC.

Partners & Participants

Over 60% of Colorado’s birthing hospitals have responded to the survey and received their neonatal and maternal levels of care at the April CPCQC meeting in 2017.

Hospitals who completed the survey:

  • Aspen Valley Hospital
  • Arkansas Valley Regional Medical Center
  • Bloomin’ Babies Birth Center
  • Boulder Community Hospital
  • Children’s Hospital Colorado
  • Delta County Community Hospital
  • Denver Health
  • Good Samaritan Medical Center
  • Littleton Adventist Hospital
  • Longmont United Hospital
  • Medical Center of the Rockies
  • North Suburban Medical Center
  • Parkview Medical Center
  • Platte Valley Medical Center
  • Poudre Valley Hospital
  • Presbyterian St. Luke’s
  • Rose Medical Center
  • Sedgwick County Health Center
  • St. Anthony Summit Medical Center
  • St. Anthony North Health Campus
  • St. Francis Medical Center
  • St. Joseph Hospital
  • St. Mary Corwin
  • St. Mary Hospital and Medical Center
  • St. Thomas More
  • Skyridge Medical Center
  • University of Colorado-Memorial
  • University of Colorado Hospital
  • Vail Valley Medical Center
  • Valley View Hospital
  • Wray Community Hospital District
  • Yampa Valley Medical Center
  • Yuma District Hospital


The Levels of Care Assessment Tool/electronic or LOCATe, was developed by the CDC based upon the 2012 AAP Policy Statement on Levels of Neonatal Care, the 2012 AAP/ACOG Publication of Guidelines for Perinatal Care, and the 2015 ACOG/SMFM publication of Maternal Levels of Care.

Ready to Make a Difference?

A steady rise in maternal mortality rates and disparities in infant mortality have increased the spotlight on the quality of care delivered by hospitals and their staff. Together, we can address these issues, improve outcomes and reduce preventable deaths in our state.

Get Involved